tives, is found in Canada. The Cabinet is actually a committee of the King's Privy Council for Canada. Without enlarging upon the features of the system, it may be sufficient to note that the Cabinet is responsible to the House of Commons, and, following established precedent, resigns office when it becomes evident that it no longer holds the confidence of the people's representatives. Members of the Cabinet are chosen by the Prime Minister; each generally assumes charge of one of the various Departments of Government, although a Minister may hold more than one portfolio at the same time, or may be without portfolio.

The Prime Ministers since Confederation and the dates of their tenures of office, together with the members of the Sixteenth Ministry, are given in Table 2. The complete list of the members of the King's Privy Council for Canada, as at Mar. 15, 1939, is added as Table 3.

2.—Ministries since Confederation and Members of the Sixteenth Ministry.

Note.--A complete list of the members of Dominion Ministries from Confederation to 1913 ameaned in the Year Book of 1912, pp. 422-429. A list of the members of Dominion Ministries from 1911 to 1921 appeared in the Year Book of 1920, pp. 651-653. A list of the members of the Twelfth and Thirteenth Ministries appeared on pp. 78-77 of the 1927-28 Year Book. Members of the Fourteenth Ministry are listed at p. 69 of the 1930 Year Book and members of the Fifteenth Ministry on p. 67 of the 1934-35 Year Book.

- animatics appointed to Year Book and members of the Filteenth Ministry on p. 67 of the 1934-35 Yac Book.
 I. Rt. Hon. Sir John A. Macdonald, Prime Minister. From Nov. 7, 1873, to Nov. 6, 1873.
 Hon. Alexander Mackenzie, Prime Minister. From Nov. 7, 1873, to Oct. 16, 1873.
 Rt. Hon. Sir John A. Macdonald, Prime Minister. From Oct. 17, 1878, to June 6, 1891.
 Hon. Sir John J. C. Abbott, Prime Minister. From Dec. 5, 1892, to Dec. 12, 1894.
 Hon. Sir John J. C. Abbott, Prime Minister. From Dec. 5, 1892, to Dec. 12, 1894.
 Hon. Sir John J. D. Thompson, Prime Minister. From Dec. 5, 1892, to Dec. 12, 1894.
 Hon. Sir Kanles Tupper, Prime Minister. From May 1, 1896, to Oct. 6, 1911.
 Rt. Hon. Sir Kohrles Tupper, Prime Minister. From May 1, 1896, to Oct. 6, 1911.
 Rt. Hon. Sir Wilfrid Laurier, Prime Minister. From July 11, 1896, to Oct. 6, 1911.
 Rt. Hon. Sir Robert L. Borden, Prime Minister. (Conservative Administration.) From Oct. 10, 1911, to Oct. 12, 1917.
 Rt. Hon. Sir Robert L. Borden, Prime Minister. (Unionist Administration.) From Oct. 12, 1917.
 to July 10, 1920.
 Rt. Hon. William Lyon Mackenzie King, Prime Minister. From Dec. 29, 1921, to June 28, 1926.
 Rt. Hon. William Lyon Mackenzie King, Prime Minister. From June 29, 1926, to Sept. 25, 1926.
 Rt. Hon. Richsrd Bedford Benuett, Prime Minister. From June 29, 1926, to Sept. 25, 1926.
 Rt. Hon. Richsrd Bedford Benuett, Prime Minister. From June 29, 1920, to Oct. 23, 1930.
 Rt. Hon. Richsrd Bedford Benuett, Prime Minister. From May 2, 1920, to Sept. 25, 1926.
 Rt. Hon. William Lyon Mackenzie King, Prime Minister. From May 2, 1930, to Oct. 23, 1935.
 Rt. Hon. William Lyon Mackenzie King, Prime Minister. From May 2, 1930, to Oct. 23, 1935.

SIXTEENTH DOMINION MINISTRY.

(According to precedence of the Ministers as at the formation of the Cabinet.)

Office.	Occupant.	Date of Appointment.
Prime Minister, President of the Privy Council, Secretary of State for External Affairs	Right Hon. W. L. Mackenzie King, C.M.G.	Oct. 23, 1935
Member of the Administration and Minister without port-		Oct. 23, 1935
folio Minister of Mines and Resources ¹ Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada	Hon. Thomas Alexander Crerar.	Oct. 23, 1935
·	R.C	Oct. 23, 1935
Minister of Public Works	Cardin, K.C	Oct. 23, 1935
Minister of Finance Postmaster General	Hon. Norman Alexander	Oct. 23, 1935
Minister of Trade and Commerce	McLarty Hon. William Daum Euler	Jan. 23, 1939 Oct. 23, 1935
Secretary of State of Canada Minister of National Defence	Hon, Ian Alistair Mackenzie	Oct. 23, 1935 Oct. 23, 1935
Minister of Pensions and National Health	Hon. Charles Gavan Power, M.C., K.C.	Oct. 23, 1935
Minister of National Revenue Minister of Fisheries	Hon. James Lorimer Ilsley, K.C.	Oct. 23, 1935 Oct. 23, 1935
Minister of Labour	Hon. Norman McLeod Rogers.	Oct. 23, 1935 Oct. 23, 1935
Minister of Agriculture	Hon. James Garfield Gardiner. 1	Oct. 28, 1935 Jan. 23, 1939

¹ The Departments of Mines, Interior, Immigration and Colonization, and Indian Affairs were organized into the new Department of Mines and Resources on Dec. 1, 1936. ² The Department of Railways and Canals and the Department of Marine, together with the Civil Aviation Branch of the Department of National Defence were organized into the new Department of Transport on Nov. 2, 1936.